Home » Historical Sew Monthly 2016 » February HSM – Tucks and Pleats

February HSM – Tucks and Pleats

So, I am so aware of how appalling I’ve been keeping you up to date with my projects, for which I can only apologise, and then some more. Life got in the way, as it tends to. I’ve been busy sewing, just not blogging about the sewing I’ve been doing. So, I’ll get on with my February HSM. 

You may be wondering where my January HSM is, and the answer is, underneath my February project… All will be revealed. 

  
Here it is: my skirt to go over my 1850s cage crinoline. There is so much pleating here (ruffles galore!) that I knew it’d be perfect for this month’s challenge. 

  
It is essentially made out of two types of fabric, because I ran out of the first kind, and the ruffles are mounted onto a base skirt. All in all, it’s actually really heavy!

 

A sweet button used to fasten the skirt at the back

 
And yes, it is mostly machine sewn. Obviously there are bits where one has to hand sew, such as sewing the yards of ruffles actually onto the skirt, but hems and seams and so on are done by machine, to speed up what would otherwise be a very laborious process. 

It’s far more imposing and impressive in real life than the pictures convey, I promise!

 Its over the top of my cage crinoline I made, which I think it’s nice enough to show on here, but if you need a description it’s steel wire held in place by bias tape. Not particularly elegant but it s sturdy yet bendable and does the job nicely. That was going to be my January HSM, but I didn’t finish it in time and I also don’t like the way it looks without anything covering it. 
So, facts. 

Challenge: Tucks and Pleats

Fabric: what I had lying around: plain beige cotton, and a heavier curtain (yay for curtain material!) material.  

Pattern: none

Year: from 1856 onwards, because that’s when the cage crinoline was patented

Notions: thread, a silver button

How historically accurate is it? Other than the use of sewing machine and un-authentic materials, the shape is pretty similar to pictures of outer skirts, so we can assume that petticoats had a similar shape. 70-80% authentic

Hours to complete: countless

First worn: 20th February

Total cost: nothing, everything was from the stash! 
Overall, I love the way it looks and how it really makes sure that you can’t see the hoops through the skirt, which is a main use of petticoats in this era! Plus, ruffles. Enough said. 

 

Leave a Reply

