Home » Regency » Regency Chemise/Shift :June HSM. 

Regency Chemise/Shift :June HSM. 

So, the June HSM is Out of Your Comfort Zone. 

This project was actually quite bizarre. I started it some weeks back as a Victorian chemise for my corset, but the shape wasn’t correct and I wasn’t very happy with it. I had cut it too slim, so I needed to add gores on the sides. 

I had thrown it aside, bored of French seaming the gores. I dug it back out yesterday and as it progressed, I decided it’s better suited to Regency. It is the perfect companion for my Regency stays. 

So, why’ s it eligible for the June HSM? Well, I’ve never made one before and although it was very simple, the endless French seams are boring and quite tricky. It was made trickier by the fact that my sewing machine is a bit off colour at the moment. It is reluctant to go over pins and stops and frantically sews teeny tiny stitches. So, although a bad work,an blames his tools, blah, blah, I actually do have a reason for the stitching to be uneven. 

Eventually I gave up on the sewing machine. I used it only for the bottom hem and the gores. The rest is hand sewn. I hated this project St first, but it’s grown on me as it has progressed, and I’m actually quite fond of it now. I may add some white work embroidery too, if I find time. 

   

  

  

The next photos are actually meant to be before the other ones, but WordPress was playing up, so chronological order isn’t happening. Sorry.   

Without sleeves. i considered leaving it like this.

  
  

The back drawstring

 I added the drawstring because I like being able to adjust the neckline, or add more ruffles to the front or back. Also, Marie (my dress form) has much narrower shoulders than me and the chemise was always slipping off.  

I added the sleeves because none of the period chemises were without some sort of sleeve, and I figures that this might give a little more volume to whatever is put on to of it. They look like small wings! 

The Challenge: Out of Your Comfort Zone

Fabric: cotton

Pattern: mixture of research and looking at period chemises, and my own pattern

Year: probably around 1800-1810 

Notions: linen thread, string (not sure what kind)

How historically accurate is it? Well, I’m not sure if the fabric is totally period, and it’s 50/50 hand sewn and machine sewn. Not sure that pattern is period either, but I think that it would be acceptable for the Retency period, so I’m going to say about 80% accurate. 

Hours to complete: ooh, tricky. Around 6ish? 

First worn:

Total cost: as usual, it’s all from my stash, so £0! 

Leave a Reply

