Home » Guess Who? » Guess the Famous Figure

Guess the Famous Figure

Hi! I’m very excited for this post, because Anne has very kindly let me steal her wonderful idea of Guess Who? Basically, the idea is that I will write a paragraph or two from the point of view of a famous figure in history, and you have to comment who you think it is. 

So, without further ado, my first Guess Who!

I sit here, cold and alone, waiting for a messenger to tell me I am free to go. The hours pass, and no message comes. My hair is dishevelled; I see no reason I should tidy it. For whom would I make myself presentable? My gaoler? My mind wanders and I wish it would sleep, but I cannot sleep. What horrendous torture are they doing to my dear Cat at this moment? A cold breeze tickles my neck, but it is not windy outside. Perhaps it is her ghost. I think about her more than ever, now, when I too am the prisoner of a monarch, imprisoned for no plausible reason other than rumour. Is she with me now? Is that a silent footfall, or a figment of my imagination? I want her to be here, to calm me; to comfort me. More than ever, I need the quick thinking of my mother to guide me safely. But no mother will ever come, for she died here; am I to have the same fate? I scratch a message into the glass of the window with my ring: ‘Much suspected of me, nothing proved can be.’ I turn away from the window; then ravens circling the Tower Green install a fear of death in me which I cannot bear. 

So, who do you think the mystery figure is? Please share this with whoever you think would guess it! 

One thought on “Guess the Famous Figure

Leave a Reply

