Home » Regency » Regency short stays, update

Regency short stays, update

Last night I spent a good hour redrafting a new pattern for these, and then cutting out a lining fabric which is from an old bedsheets, but I would say it’s cotton; the interlining layer is the same coutil as I used for my Victorian corset, but I’m not going to 100% historical accuracy with these and as they’re going to be hand sewn, I think I might let myself get away with the coutil. I am still debating with myself whether to use linen or the same fabric as the lining for the outer layer… Any suggestions are much appreciated! 

I had a request to make a step by step tutorial, and soI think I will, if only as a good source for future reference for me. If you feel that this would be helpful, do comment any advice – what you’d like to see and what I ought to include. I know that some step by steps are actually more of a step-hop-giant leap of faith into the abyss of unknown, and so I really will try to make it as simple as possible, with tiny baby steps and lots of helpful photos… I hope. 

Anyway, that’s all for now, and I REALLY ought to get back to revising my Geography for tomorrow’s exam…! 

Please, please comment; advice is so helpful for an ameteur like me!

Leave a Reply

