Home » 18th century » The problem with long skirts, leather shoes and silk stockings…

The problem with long skirts, leather shoes and silk stockings…

I realised as soon as I posted my last post about my ensemble so far I omitted my leg and foot wear. I managed to pilfer some silk stockings from a remote drawer and my mum lent me some shoes which looked period. However, on a fine April morning there will be dew on the ground. And leather shoes+silk stockings+dew=… 

  

 Yup, blue dyed silk stocking in the heel and toe area. 

Long petticoats got damp and slightly muddy… So I used an authentic way of preventing this (which led to the loved Robe a la Polonaise) which is tucking the outer (longer petticoat through your pockets and waistband. I actually like this effect, and discovered the reason you always wear more than one petticoat. Luckily my flowery petticoat is shorter. 

 

 These are the shoes which I wore – period looking, no? Unfortunately the dew seeped through, dying my stockings. Actually, they’re not even my stockings. Oops. 

I should have know the poor wouldn’t wear silk stockings, and for this very reason.  

Leave a Reply

