Home » Other » How sewing has helped me

How sewing has helped me

I have a mild case of ADD (attention deficit disorder). The way it affects me is:

  • extreme distractibility; wandering attention makes it hard to stay on track
  • tendency to overlook details, leading to errors or incomplete work. This affects my exams (especially maths) as I have a tendency to misread the question or write one thing and submit a different answer.
  • tendency to procrastinate
  • trouble starting and finishing projects
  • frequently forgetting appointments, commitments, and deadlines
  • constantly losing or misplacing things (phone, folders, anything)
  • getting bored easily
  • trouble sitting still; constant fidgeting
  • Hyperfocus  

That list looks long, but it’s not as bad as it looks. It has got worse recently, and I am always losing my things, and other people’s, as well as forgetting where I  put things. I am a massive fidget and am constantly tapping my feet of fiddling with something. 

But sewing has been helping me, oddly enough. It gives me the motivation to finish a project, and the HSM is brilliant because I know that I need to finish something for a deadline. I still struggle with concentration, and as I am writing this I am meant to be revising History. 

I normally have around 5 projects of any kind on the go at once; dozens of stories I have started and lost motivation for, and I had lots of unfinished little sewing projects which collected creases at the back of cupboards. However, I believe that if I set myself realistic targets such as ‘I will complete all the boning channels within half an hour’ I might stet to apply this technique to other aspects of my life. 

One can only hope. 

Leave a Reply

