Home » 18th century » HSM Foundations Challenge

HSM Foundations Challenge

Well, my first ever Historical Sew Anything (Fortnightly or Monthly) is finished! The photos don’t actually do the pretty colour of the fabric credit, but there we are – use your imagination to imagine a more vivid pink: dusky rose.

 

I haven't yet had time to iron it...

I haven’t yet had time to iron it…

The pocket hoops are underneath.

The pocket hoops are underneath.

P1100196  The ties are also all hand sewn together.

The Challenge: Foundations

Fabric: Linen

Pattern: This pattern, but adapted to suit my needs. http://www.koshka-the-cat.com/18c_petticoat.html

This is my pattern: https://teenagetailoress.files.wordpress.com/2014/08/p1090594.jpg

Year: I’m thinking late-mid 18th century, if that makes any sense.

Notions: I love, love, love it. It’s so authentic and it feels lovely to wear, as well as being pink! It is a little too wide which makes it a little tricky to get to the pocket hoop slits, but I blame my dress form for being fatter than me…

How historically accurate is it? Very, I think. It’s pure linen and completely hand sewn.

Hours to complete: Hmmm, probably about three?

First worn: 10th January, 2015

Total cost: Well, the fabric initially cost about £3. But it has been in my stash for a while now.

Overall, very satisfied! I’ve started to work on my challenge for February – Colour Challenge Blue. I will post about that later.

2 thoughts on “HSM Foundations Challenge

  1. Pingback: My 18th century ensemble so far | The Teenage Tailoress

Leave a Reply

