Home » Uncategorized » Updated to-do list

Updated to-do list

I am very aware that I haven’t posted for AGES and AGES, but I have been so incredibly busy with schoolwork, trying to get good grades.

However, I wanted to just update my ever-increasing to-do list.

1. New panniers. I actually have the perfect material waiting for me, and am as I type drafting a new pattern. Whether I’ll actually get round to making them this year, well, who knows?

2. Finish my lace cap. I decided that for my 18th century gown I’ll need an 18th century head covering, lest I be thought of as immoral (gasp). So I am in the process of making one, and it is actually very easy. I had to sew two strands of my thinner lace together to get wider lappets, but other than that, there is very little thinking power involved.  I am using some of my left-over linen from the doomed shift. This website is my life support during this project, with useful pictures and tutorials.  http://www.marquise.de/en/1700/howto/frauen/18hauben.shtml

 The cap I am basing mine on.

3. Oh deary, but yes, a new shift is on this list too. This one will most likely be a long-term project, and I’ll put it off until I have a suitable dress dummy (it’s on my Christmas wish list!)  because Jeanette is not co-operating and has been banished to the cupboard under the stairs, which is why I am also putting off doing…

4. My gown. I need to line the skirt, and sew in the V-strips as well as figure out a way to pin the front closed without impaling myself. Oh, and sleeves. Dear Lord, sleeves must also be made….. HELP!

5. Silk petticoat. This one is a must to go under my gown, but I am putting it off until my panniers are done and I have a dress dummy. So again, after Christmas.

6. A coif or other head covering. This website is a godsend to any costumer, I would really recommend that you take a moment to look at it. I am taking inspiration for my lace cap from here as well as for a different cap or head covering.     http://www.marquise.de/en/1700/howto/frauen/18hauben.shtml

 Something like this….

7. A straw hat. I am in love with the wide-brimmed straw hats of the 18th century, and as soon as I find some suitable materials I am going to make one for myself.

 What’s not to love about these?  

Anyway, I’m going to be busy!

Leave a Reply

